Welcome, Guest! Why not create a free forum account today and join in with the world's friendliest bunch of Kindle enthusiasts

So what is a bestseller???

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average

Offline Stu Ayris Reading Dishwasher by Pete Jordan
15 Feb 2012, 02:06 PM | Post: #1

Master of Verbosity

Thanked 35 times

What I Read

So what is a bestseller???

Now I always thought, growing up, that a bestseller was a book that had sold more than any other (or perhaps within the top 100) over a period of time. Yet more and more I see people referring to themselves as bestselling authors or to their book as being a bestseller. And I always take a look at these books to see what mysteries I can find. So I guess in that way the promotional tag of 'bestseller' is working - well on fools like me at least!

The most wonderful example I have seen in this rather addictive new hobby of mine was the person who wrote on her blog "I woke up the next morning to find that I was a bestselling author." It seemed her novel had reached number 98 in the Amazon Erotic Fiction listings...

So I was just wondering what the general view is. Mine, for what it's worth is that the term bestseller should be reserved for those books that literally sell better than the majority of others - sadly though I see that once wonderful term being diluted to the stage where it becomes entirely meaningless.
Offline skate Reading
15 Feb 2012, 02:22 PM | Post: #2

Dragon lady

Thanked 44 times

What I Read

RE: So what is a bestseller???

This post was last modified: 15 Feb 2012 02:22 PM by skate.
I agree with you, Stu. My books have been on a few 'best seller' lists, but I've never called myself a 'best selling author' simply because it isn't true. I've managed to make it onto an obscure category listing on the basis of a few sales, that's all. If I ever make it onto the top 100 list for all Kindle books, then I will happily call myself a best seller, but until then I'm just selling a few books.
Kate Smile