Welcome, Guest! Why not create a free forum account today and join in with the world's friendliest bunch of Kindle enthusiasts

Wireless Broadband

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 
Offline Lesley-Ann Reading
30 Oct 2010, 12:32 PM | Post: #1

Professional Aunty
*****

Posts: 384
Joined: Aug 2010

Thanked 0 times

What I Read

Wireless Broadband

I was wondering if anyone here has wireless broadband or knows of a provider which they would suggest.

I'm considering changing providers and don't want to have to go back to having my modem/router wired into my computer.

Our main telephone line is too far away from my computer to mess around with firewire connection. I have gone totally wireless for this reason and don't wish to go back to the days when I was locked into where I could place my computer.

After last night's nightmare of being totally loosing my broadband connection for the second time in less than two weeks I've had enough. Especially as it went off at before 9pm and didn't return till sometime in the early hours.

I am currently with AOL and the service is becoming unstable too often now and don't get me started on their customer service.Dodgy
Reading Kindle Veteran Digital Reader.
Offline Matt Reading The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith
30 Oct 2010, 02:12 PM | Post: #2

Senior Member
****

Posts: 334
Joined: Aug 2010

Thanked 0 times

What I Read

RE: Wireless Broadband

We use Virgin Media has our ISP. We've got a TV, phone and 10mbit broadband connection with them but you can obviously choose which package best suits your requirements. My download speeds are never less than 9-10mbit (depending on which site I'm downloading from).

Virgin only provide you with a cable modem. As you're already wireless I assume you've got a wireless router and adapter/card/dongle?

Might be worth looking in to if you don't get any better suggestions here.
Offline Lesley-Ann Reading
30 Oct 2010, 02:35 PM | Post: #3

Professional Aunty
*****

Posts: 384
Joined: Aug 2010

Thanked 0 times

What I Read

RE: Wireless Broadband

(30 Oct 2010 02:12 PM)Matt Wrote:  Virgin only provide you with a cable modem. As you're already wireless I assume you've got a wireless router and adapter/card/dongle?

Yup. I had to buy a new router (and dongle) when I upgraded to Vista with my desktop, as Vista don't allow you to use cable modems which I was given by AOL when I joined.
Reading Kindle Veteran Digital Reader.
Offline Matt Reading The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith
30 Oct 2010, 02:48 PM | Post: #4

Senior Member
****

Posts: 334
Joined: Aug 2010

Thanked 0 times

What I Read

RE: Wireless Broadband

There must have been a problem with the Vista drivers for your AOL modem because Vista should work with any cable modem as long as the modem manufacturer has made the necessary driver.

That router and dongle you have already should work fine with a Virgin Media cable modem. I've never had any problems matching a router to the modem anyway.
Offline Lesley-Ann Reading
30 Oct 2010, 03:01 PM | Post: #5

Professional Aunty
*****

Posts: 384
Joined: Aug 2010

Thanked 0 times

What I Read

RE: Wireless Broadband

(30 Oct 2010 02:48 PM)Matt Wrote:  There must have been a problem with the Vista drivers for your AOL modem because Vista should work with any cable modem as long as the modem manufacturer has made the necessary driver.

That router and dongle you have already should work fine with a Virgin Media cable modem. I've never had any problems matching a router to the modem anyway.

My mistake, the problem was that the modem was usb powered, not the cable, if I remember correctly. Vista doesn't work with usb modems. Whatever reason it was a Vista compatibility problem.
Reading Kindle Veteran Digital Reader.

Currently Reading: Last Book I Read: Favourite Genres:Romance / Paranormal / True Crime
Currently Reading:The Cuckoo's Calling - Robert Galbraith Last Book I Read:The Light Between Oceans - M.L. Stedman Favourite Genres:|Non-Fic||Thrillers||Mystery|