UK Kindle Users Forum
No margins as an option. - Printable Version

+- UK Kindle Users Forum (http://www.kuforum.co.uk/kindleusersforum)
+-- Forum: Kindle E-Ink Forums (/forum-5.html)
+--- Forum: Wishlist (/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: No margins as an option. (/thread-241.html)



No margins as an option. - brainman - 21 Sep 2010 04:00 PM

We all know the fix but why not offer it as an option on the 'Aa' key as isn't always what you want.


RE: No margins as an option. - NickRich - 07 Nov 2010 05:18 PM

(21 Sep 2010 04:00 PM)brainman Wrote:  We all know the fix but why not offer it as an option on the 'Aa' key as isn't always what you want.

Er, newbie here. I don't know the fix. What is it please?


RE: No margins as an option. - licenced - 07 Nov 2010 06:11 PM

See the Kindle FAQ thread - http://www.kuforum.co.uk/kindleusersforum/thread-374.html

Dave


RE: No margins as an option. - Rab - 07 Nov 2010 08:13 PM

This might be the answer.

Step 1: Go to the Home page of the kindle and put it in USB drive mode. (Make sure you're on the homepage not reading a novel)

Step 2: View the files of the K3 and select the organize tab in the top left. Go onto the folder and search options select view and deselect the hide protected operating system files and select show hidden folders. Apply the changes and a system folder should become visible.

Step 3: Open the system folder the com.amazon.ebook.booklet.reader folder and open the reader file with notepad software.

Step 4: In this file you will find the line HORIZONTAL_MARGIN=40. This is the line you need to change. Change the 40 to the amont of pixels you want the margin to be. I've found 10 works well. When you've made the change save the file.

Step 5: Reload you're kindle. To make the change go to the settings press the menu again and select the restart option. DO THIS BEFORE YOU OPEN A BOOK TO READ. Once the Kindle restarts open the book your reading and the margins shall be what you've set.

Hope this helps.


RE: No margins as an option. - licenced - 07 Nov 2010 09:43 PM

On step 3 don't use the standard windows Notepad program. This is detailed in the FAQ that I linked to above.

Dave